Polenta

Thank you to all my visitors – it is so energizing to hear your insights 🙂

I’ve realized one of the reasons for starting this blog – I miss my student days of being able to stay up all night talking about stuff – little & big issues, abstract, concrete, whatever.  That’s something I miss being “grown up” and not handling lack of sleep as well as I did in my carefree days.

Another thing I have always enjoyed is food!  I’d like to share this unexpectedly wonderful polenta recipe with you.  I seem to recall trying polenta many years ago and it didn’t work out at all.  But I was stuck for a side dish, trying to go gluten-free, and found this recipe.  It’s basically like making a porridge out of cornmeal and putting melted butter on it.  Mmm mmm! 

3 cups water

1 cup/250 mL yellow cornmeal

salt

butter

Boil the water and salt.  Add the cornmeal gradually, stirring all the time or you will get lumps.  (I was not patient enough and got lumps!)  Cook over low heat 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Pour onto a dish, and shape into a mound.  Make a little well at the top and pour melted butter on.  Before serving, mix the melted butter in.

(largely based on a Ja.mes Bar.ber recipe)

Note you can garnish in many ways – grilled veggies, feta cheese, onions, roasted red peppers, herbs.  You can also pour any leftovers into a shallow dish and chill.   Then you can cut it into slices, brush with oil and grill or fry to serve as a side dish.  I’ve even heard of people using layers of polenta like lasagne noodles to make a polenta lasagne.

Seriously, this is amazing!  I couldn’t believe it either 🙂  It came to me in a moment of revelation that this was probably the “cornmeal mush” that Laura Ingalls Wilder describes her Ma making in the “Little House on the Prairie” books.  DH often teases me for wanting to be like Ma Ingalls, and here I took a step closer without even realizing it.

The only downside – DH and I have started a South Beach kind of phase so it will be awhile before I can eat it again …

 

One thought on “Polenta

  1. loribeth61 says:

    Never eaten polenta… but I loooovvve cornmeal muffins!

Leave a Reply

