Vegetarian “pepperoni” (for pizza)

Someday I will post about the balancing act I try to do with food.  Just as a quick background, I should perhaps let you know I’m not vegetarian, but I am working towards having at least 2 vegetarian suppers throughout the week – maybe more.  (part of the reason is that we try to eat organic just-about-everything, and organic meat is expensive; the other part, because I’ve been won over by some arguments about how our high meat consumption is affecting global warming).

That’s why I’ve been on a quest to re-shape my thinking beyond “supper must include a meat for protein.”  I”m trying to find veggie recipes that are  delicious, healthy & easy.  If you know of any great sources or cookbooks, please let me know!

The following recipe for “zucchini-roni” is based on a Rachael Ray recipe.  Some people love her, some definitely do not – I have found her an inspiration in my cooking.

Zucchini-Roni

Thinly slice zucchini.

Combine the following in a bowl, then put in the zucchini slices to toss:

2 cloves garlic

extra virgin olive oil

red pepper flakes

Italian seasoning

salt to taste

I’ve made these a few times and never been disappointed – they have a great flavour punch.  (mind you, I’m not a hard-core pepperoni sort of girl.  I like bacon best).  

Most recently I made pizza using Sepp’s whole wheat organic tortillas for a crust (not sure you can get them in the USA – they are BY FAR the best tortillas I’ve had), tomato sauce, zucchinironi, red pepper, cheddar & parmesan cheese.  Delicious!

****

I’m looking for help on a taco kind of recipe – trying to sub out the ground meat for black beans.  I cooked up onion, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, salt and black beans in some extra virgin olive oil in a pan.  It was still “meh” so I put in some salsa, which was a good touch – but it’s still lacking something.  Maybe lemon juice?  Any ideas?

The ultimate destination is to do it up like a taco in a wrap or tortilla, with cheese, sour cream, salsa/tomato, lettuce etc.   Thanks!

7 thoughts on “Vegetarian “pepperoni” (for pizza)

  1. C says:

    Yummy! I have no suggestions for you, as I am a horrible cook and a horrible eater. Well, I eat horrible food, I mean… I’m actually quite a fabulous eater. 🙂 But what you have sounds great, I’ll have to try it!

    C

  2. lupuspie says:

    Sounds yummy!

    For the taco “meat,” have you tried soy crumbles? I mix them with Ro-Tel (canned tomotoes and green chilis).

  3. lupuspie says:

    Oh, and I also add packaged “taco flavoring.”

  4. SAHW says:

    I try to actually cook my meat or beans with the salsa, so the flavor seeps in…and I usually add red pepper flakes for added kick. I use the taco seasoning recipes by Bill Echols on allrecipes.com – I usu have all the ingredients on hand, and it’s healthier than packaged taco seasoning. Though I’m not gonna pretend like I always avoid the packaged route – I definitely give in to that from time to time too.

  5. Kim says:

    I think it was Rachel Ray who did a Enchalasagna! It was so good. I did modify hrer recipe a little – I took whole wheat tortillas, enchilada sauce, beans, corn, cheese, brown rice, and grilled chicken (can be optional). All is layered like a lasagna and then baked. I love mexican food and it was really wonderful – with a little dollop of sour cream on top!

  6. Amy says:

    We have the same less meat policy in my house and for the same reasons. I make GREAT black bean tacos, although I usually roll them up into burritos instead—I’ll email you.

  7. panamahat says:

    I try and eat two or three no meat evening meals per week too and I can thoroughly recommend Nadine Abensur – Fast Food and Enjoy: both great veggo recipe books I use a lot.

Leave a Reply

