Turtling

(some religious content)

I’ve been hiding from the world a bit lately.  I can understand doing so in real life, but it is odd that the same thing would happen on-line.

It’s not that anything really bad is going on – for which I am grateful.  Perhaps it’s feeling a bit stuck in a rut.  DH got all the way to the end with another job, but they gave it to the other candidate.  DH (IMO) is an amazingly great guy and worker, and I think what must be happening is that he impresses them at interviews etc. so he progresses forward, even when the job isn’t exactly what he has done before.  All this time & energy goes into the process, and at the end they decide on someone who has more directly relevant experience.  It’s happened 3 times!  Then, he had an interview for a job he really wanted, but he just wasn’t on his game and “bombed the interview” (his words).  I don’t know whether to file that in “bad things happen to good people” “$&it happens” or “God has other plans.”  The cycle of hope, anticipation, and then crashing is not fun.  (sounds a bit like a TTC cycle doesn’t it?  I asked DH what was harder for him, and he said probably the job search cycle, since it is something one *ought* to have more control over). 

Anyway we are hanging in.  I go through spurts of having the house tidy-ish, laundry pretty much caught up, good food (lots of veggies) and me eating well (not too many carbs, only 1 cup of coffee, etc).  Then we go through times when it all falls apart and we are ordering pizza and frantically trying to match socks.  Ugh.  I much prefer the more organized living but sometimes it is hard to climb back up there – at least for me.  It makes me wonder if other people really go through this, or if I’m just lazy, caught up in inertia, not domestic, etc etc.

Yesterday was a pretty rainy, grey day until late afternoon.  I was sitting at the computer, looking out the window and thinking how I really should get outside while the sun is shining.  I thought about all the benefits of fresh air, a little walk, hearing the birds sing, etc.  But it wasn’t enough to move my butt from the chair.  At last I said a little prayer along the lines of “God, please help me to get outside.  I’m not strong enough to do this on my own.”  (I know, pretty sad that I can’t manage to get outside isn’t it?)

5 minutes later the doorbell rang – a friend of mine who was going for a walk happened to stop by just in case I was home, to invite me out for a walk.  It’s a bit unusual for one of us to just drop in on the other – usually we call first – so this was unexepected.  I got myself into fit-to-be-seen clothes and outside we went.  It then occured to me, you could say she’s the answer to a prayer 😉  Isn’t that funny?  It could be pure coincidence.  It could be energy vibes or a disturbance in the space-time continuum.  Or it could be that an angel gave her a nudge.  I don’t know. 

But it was good to get outside for a bit, and helped me to feel better.  See, I’m even blogging again 😉

5 thoughts on “Turtling

  1. Portraits in Sepia says:

    Sounds like perfect timing, coincidence, God, divine intervention or whatever you want to call it. I personally do not consider myself a religious person per se but I definitely believe God’s hand holds the design for our lives and he blesses us with encouragement when we need it most. (LIke my husband finding his wedding band on the same day he lost his job.)
    I hope the best for you and your husband.

  2. SAHW says:

    It does sound like she was the answer to a prayer. 🙂
    I’m sorry about the hoping/crashing cycle your DH is facing now…and it does sound very familiar to those of us TTC-ing! Hopefully your prayers for his job situation will be answered soon too. 🙂

  3. loribeth says:

    (cue the Twlight Zone music…!) That is cool. ; ) I often go through spurts of “hibernation” too. I think all of us need down time occasionally to regroup & recharge our batteries. So long as it doesn’t last too long (i.e., depression), I don’t see any harm in it. Good luck to your dh!

  4. Amy says:

    I don’t think it’s odd to hibernate online—I go through spurts where I still blog regularly, but the thought of opening my email and having to respond to people fills me with dread.

    Glad to see you back, and I’m hoping your husband finds (and gets) a new positions soon. The waiting can be so, so hard.. ……

  5. Sorry to hear about your husband’s disappointing job search. I know how much this can suck and how impossible it can sometimes feel when a very quality husband is just having no luck. My thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

