Home made moisturizer / lotion

In preparation for our road trip, I carefully selected a product to keep my face moisturized instead of bringing my own home-made concoction. Depsite taking the time to read everything and spending reasonable money to get something good – well, it didn’t live up to my hopes. In fact, my own lotion and moisturizer do waaaay better for me. (As I near my 38th birthday, I must concede that a few lines are developing on my forehead, and I”m working on accepting and loving them. However, I see no reason that zits should also appear and I object strenuously!)

One of my favourite “Less Toxic Living” books is “Better Basics for the Home” by Annie Berthold-Bond. With this book, you can make your own anything – ant poison, shampoo, stain remover, cleaning solutions … but what I keep coming back to are the pedicure regimens, and the lotions and face moisturizers. These last two are so easy to make, and not expensive! And they really work for me 🙂

Lotion:
1/2 cup aloe vera gel (I buy the food-grade stuff from the Natural Foods store)
1/8 cup glycerin (from the pharmacy – you may have to ask for help in finding it)

Combine and shake, then feel free to use! I usually wash and then apply it with my skin damp. The book says it will last about 4 months. I keep it in a glass jar in my bathroom.

There is another, similar recipe which includes vegetable oil, and I will often use that in the winter when my skin gets more dry. You can add essential oil, but I am a bit nervous of doing that because I know that some EO’s have been linked to hormone disruption, etc. (if you have any good sources of info for essential oil, please share).

To use as a moisturizer for my face, I have adapted the lotion recipe as follows:

1/2 cup aloe vera gel
1/16 cup glycerin (that is, half the usual amount of glycerin)

It feels great to me and has really worked well – no zits 🙂

I would really like to branch out more into some of the creamy lotions, scrubs, and other luxurious things … but … that may have to wait until we’ve found our new home.

Update: we are still living with minimal space,hence “stuff” ends up piling up. My Amazing Hubby will be tiling the entry way tomorrow, with hardwood being professionally installed this week and carpet the next. I will try to get pics posted for Misfit (I have never posted a pic before!)

Also, as the start of school comes closer, I am again searching for help in finding a good, healthy, work/life balance. I’m re-reading “the 7 habits of highly effective people.” Please share if you have found a tool or resource that has helped you get a grip on relationships, exercise, work, and oh yes – keeping a tidy house. I’d love to know.

Leave a Reply

