Home made shampoo and lice advice

I am going to take CM’s generous permission in the comment section and just go ahead and blog 🙂 A few of my students recently had head lice, so we had a public health nurse in to check several classes at our school – and teachers too. I chatted with the nurse as she checked my hair. (Thank goodness, I was clear – no evidence of lice). She told me that some good preventative measures are (1) to put a dab of tea tree oil behind your ears, where lice apparently like to breed and (2) to add 8-10 drops of tea tree oil to your normal shampoo. She advised not to waste money on buying ‘tea tree oil infused’ shampoo as you can’t be sure how much actually is in there.

Anyway I decided over the weekend that, despite overwhelming piles of marking, paper, and other things that need immediate attention, I was going to make my own shampoo and add tea tree oil. I pulled out my trusty copy of ‘Bet.ter Ba.sics for the Home – Sim.ple Sol.utions for less tox.ic liv.ing’ by An.nie Berth.old-Bond. I did tinker with the recipe a bit and ended up mixing: 6 ounces of very liquidy aloe vera extract, 4 oz of apple cider vinegar, 1 oz castile soap, 1 tsp of glycerin, and about 10 drops of tea tree oil. Because soap can dull your hair, I did an apple cider vinegar rinse on my hair after using this concoction.

I’m still not sure what I think of it, but it smells strongly of the tea tree oil. Hopefully any lice in my environs won’t like it and won’t try to move in.

2 thoughts on “Home made shampoo and lice advice

  1. CM says:

    Oh, yuck! My sister (a preschool teacher) and my good friend (a hair stylist) both have to deal with this every so often. I deal with my share of stuff, but I can’t do lice!

  2. JellyBelly says:

    Thanks for the tip! I am in constant fear that I’ll catch head lice from one of my students!

Leave a Reply

