Good bye 2011

I found this on Lori’s website at The Road Less Travelled – it looks long but didn’t take as much time as I thought it would to complete.

Year in Review

1. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t remember my resolutions from last year! For 2012:

run at least once a week, even if it is just 15 min

recognize that even with the knowledge, ability, etc. there are some things I just can’t do on my own, and pray for God to do these things in me … ex. keep up with my marking!

spend more time “playing” 🙂 and less wasting less time in “numbing” kind of activities

2. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

teach my students how to build things – do construction in the classroom

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
my SIL (DB’s wife) and our neighbour (tenant)

4. Did anyone close to you die?
my great aunt, Sister J. She was a warm, loving, amazing woman who was a nun for 60+ years.

5. What countries did you visit?
Canada and USA only

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

less “stuff” clogging up my life and home, and a better balance in where I spend my time

7. What date(s) from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
not so much dates as events – the death of Jack Layton struck me like Princess Di’s death; and Kate and Will’s wedding also

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

surviving? It has been a turbulent year and many people helped us get through the many rough spots.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not asking for help when I needed to, and others were willing and able to help.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

some minor ones, and losing my voice mid-November. Not much fun since I love singing (especially Christmas carols) and have had to not extend my voice since then.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

our house … that was actually late 2010 I think.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Jack Layton, in how he prepared for death and left an inspiration of hope behind.
I think Kate did well with all of the pressure she had to juggle with the wedding, the royals, etc.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

the current mayor of Toronto and some policy decisions of our government.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Our house – renovating to rent out the one side, now fixing up our side.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Christmas!
Time with my girl friends – 2 from highschool, where we had a girls’ weekend kind of thing; and 2 friends for the past 7 years where we had an evening we could just talk.
Seeing DH when he comes home from time working away 🙂
Seeing the house come together.
Also that I began meeting with 2 other women from church, and our prayers together have been so wonderful and nourishing. It has made me really look forward to the personal prayer time I have in the evenings, even when I am really tired.

16. What song will always remind you of 2011?
Hm – perhaps a song I just heard the other day, by weird al Yankovick – White and Nerdy. My SIL had me youtube it and I had to laugh at all the things that apply to me!

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer?

a) happier for sure!
b) a bit fatter
c) richer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

exercise

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

eat things that are not good for me

20. How did you spend Christmas?

with family – I love going home to my parents’ for Christmas.

21. Did you fall in love in 2011?

Yes … I am always falling more in love with those whom I love (husband, kids, nephews, parents, friends, etc). I will have flashes of how beautiful they are, or how amazing they are etc.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Hm, I don’t watch a lot of TV. Probably Battle of the Blades.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you did not hate this time last year?

No, I don’t think I hate anyone ….

24. What was the best book you read?

Too hard to answer, I can’t remember all that I have read!

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
That Taize has CD’s

26. What did you want and get?
Star Trek, the next generation – seasons 1, 2, 6 and 7. woo hoo!

27. What did you want and not get?

For DH to get a job close to home so he could work nearby or commute easily.

28. What was your favourite film of this year?

Hm, again I don’t watch alot of films … I did see and enjoy Harry Potter (the final episode)

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Nothing really, DH was out of town.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If I had exercised and felt myself to be in better shape, I would be more satisfied. I am not sure about immeasurable satisfaction though.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

comfortable is always an important fashion concept to me!

32. What kept you sane?

Prayer, hubby, kids, friends, family

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I guess Jack Layton

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

concern for how much power business seems to wield over our lives, and we don’t even know it (I just watched Food Inc the other night. Yikes!)

Also how difficult it is for people living in poverty to get out. They often do not have access to a grocery store with fresh fruits and veggies (unless they can pay for transportation) so end up eating more expensive less healthy food from a variety store, etc …..

35. Who did you miss?

There is a part of me that always misses both my Grandmas and my Grandpa, and now Sister J also.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
probably my new principal. She is just amazing on so many levels.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

Some people are just out on their own agendas and don’t care who they destroy along their way. My VP at my last school was like this and unfortunately I was one of her targets – hence the very stressful year last year.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“In this beautiful life, there’s always some sorrow / It’s a double edged knife, but there’s always tomorrow / it’s up to you now if you sink or swim / just keep the faith that your ship will come in, it’s not so bad …

(From Great Big Sea, Ordinary Day)

One thought on “Good bye 2011

  1. loribeth says:

    Seems like I can comment again on your blog — yay! I’ve been having trouble for awhile. :p Glad you enjoyed the meme. I can’t remember where I found it last year, but it’s a fun tradition now. All the best to you in 2012! : )

Leave a Reply

